Looking for a Job = Pulling My Hair Out

Standard

Image

 

Folks, I have been looking for a job since BEFORE leaving Hawaii.  Granted, I was not expecting much to come out of the job search from Hawaii since I did not have a Maryland address to put on a resume yet, but still.  I think part of the problem is that I seem to be going through some sort of career mid-life crisis.  I got my Bachelors in Business Administration.  I figured it would be a good solid degree that I could get a job with once I got out of school.  However, I did not have a crystal ball to see into the future and so I did not know I was going to be marrying a military man.  I love him dearly, he is my heart, but this life has not made it easy on my career.  If I knew then what I know now, I would have majored in something that military spouses consider a portable career.  

A portable career is something that is easy to transfer with from one place to another. The hot ones right now are mostly in the healthcare field.  Jobs such as pharmacy tech, medical transcriptionist, medical billing and coding, etc.  You get the general idea I am sure.  For me to do something like this would require going back to school to get at least some sort of certification in one of these areas.  I am not against that, but is it really what I want to do?  I am not sure.

I have come to a point in my life where my job experiences are kind of all over the place.  I have mostly administrative assistant experience, then a dash of working at a non-profit, and then you can throw in some event planning and newsletter editing.  Do I want to continue to do any of these things?  I can’t decide.  I have been to the Fleet and Family Services office.  Someone there is looking over my resume to tweak it for Maryland and to see what they know of that is available I might be a match for.  I plan on taking a class on how to apply for a federal job, but with the state things are in now I am not sure I still want one.  I have been scouring the internet on job search sites looking to find SOMETHING I won’t hate doing every day.  

The pastor at one of the churches we tried since we have been here was chatting with us after service and he made the comment that even if YOU don’t know what your gifts are and what you want to do, God does.  This is something I have always struggled with.  What are my gifts?  How do they parlay into a satisfying career where I can enjoy doing my job and feel like I am making a difference?  I am not a singer, I don’t have the patience to be a teacher for kids, and I definitely am NOT a good salesperson.  

I am good with people for the most part, I know I like working with other military families, I am outgoing, and I am creative.  I feel like I am waiting on some sort of epiphany to hit me and I will just know.  I wish it was that easy.  

Have any of you dealt with something similar?  Have you reached your career wall?  How did you deal with it?  I am definitely open to any suggestions.  

Now.  I must call the management company to see how to work our oil heating system and continue to unpack and get things organized.  Maybe I will hear from one of the places I have applied to soon.  Wish me luck!!

One response »

  1. Sounds like you should consider social work :). Yes it requires more school but its worth it. I’d be happy to answer any questions you have if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

